I still remember the day I donned the school robes and walked through the great doors of Hogwarts, along with Harry, Ron & Hermione. The trio was never on their own because swarms of people, like myself, silently followed them everywhere.

It was a lifetime of memories and magic, that J.K. Rowling gifted us. The heights of her imagination astounds me everytime I go through the series. The intricate detailing and vivid descriptions made the story so realistic that everyone talked about it as if everything happened right in front of their eyes. 

I wasn’t lucky enough to get hold of each book the same day it got released. I remember the frequent visits I made to the library with my dad, to badger the librarian about when the book would come. 

I had to reserve the book in advance if I wanted to borrow it as soon as it came to the library. I used to go there without fail and write down my name in the list, everytime a book was about to be released. This was followed by the dragging wait for the librarian’s phone call. 

The moment I got the call, I would call my dad and tell him that I needed to visit the library that day itself. I would eagerly wait for my dad to come back from the hospital after work and would jump in the car before it even reached the gate! 

The joy I felt, everytime I got hold of the new book, can’t be described. I would start reading it in the car itself, conveniently ignoring my dad as he had done his part. I would barely eat or drink till I finished the book, I saw everything else as a waste of time. The same was the situation in most of my friends’ homes. The influence Harry Potter had on me and the many millions around the globe was unbelievable.

‘The scar had not pained Harry for nineteen years. All was well.’

I’m very sure that the pang I felt inside as I read these lines of Deathly Hallows, was a shared emotion all over the world. 

The end of an era. 

All the scenes in the books are etched in my mind so vividly. I badly wish I could forget everything I read and read it all over again, for the first time! 

Written in response to Daily Prompt : Vivid

Picture courtesy : Pinterest

