“Oh there she is, Jean, the tenacious one! She is so smart & successful at work.”

Oh good. No one knows how hard I found it to wake up today morning. I don’t know why I feel this way.

“I wish I was Samantha. So famous & rich!”

You don’t want to be me, Trust me. I hate myself. I feel tired. I don’t know why I feel this way.

“Leanne has the perfect kids,a doting husband and a wonderful job. How happy she must be! She has everything any woman would want!”

Happy. The word itself sounded alien. The weight in my chest just wouldn’t shift. I don’t know why I feel this way. 

“Marie’s husband died recently. I wonder how she is coping with the job on one hand and the children on the other.”

I wish he took me with him. But I have to be there for the kids. I know why but it’s so difficult. I have to keep smiling though I’m crying inside.

“Sometimes I feel I should be like Nora. Unmarried and free. No tensions or sadness, nothing. Happily drifting!”

Oh sure, I was drifting, to the depths of despair. I dried my tears, plastered a dazzling smile on my face as I sat down on my desk, after the eighth trip to the restroom that morning. I love my job. I don’t know why I feel this way.

The day was over. Like they did every night, all the five women locked themselves in their rooms, took off the masks and fell down, defeated. The gave in to the spirits of Despair, Anger, Desperation, Exhaustion, Guilt, Tears & Pain, which were attacking them from every angle. They fought hard and brave, every night, to put on a smile, every morning. Some days were fine, some days weren’t. 

Nobody guessed. Nobody knew. It could happen to anyone. 

Photo courtesy : Pinterest

